Select Page

UAF Photo by JR Ancheta


On April 15, 2017, the School of Management honored Steve Lundgren, President and CEO of Denali State Bank, as the 2017 Business Leader of the Year award.

The UAF Business Leader of the Year award is given to a deserving recipient based on leadership in the Fairbanks business community, business achievements, community service, and educational support.

The event sold out for the eighth year in a row. Many SOM students worked hard to make the night a success, volunteering their time in order to earn a ticket to the event. They sold tickets, ironed hundreds of chair sashes, worked with vendors, and decorated the venue.

Funds raised through the Business Leader of the Year event support student organizations at SOM. The audience, made up of the Interior community and business leaders, demonstrated enthusiastic support for our students, collectively raising over $36,000 – all of which will go back to the future business leaders of Alaska: UAF School of Management students.

To view photos and videos from the event, click the links below:

Download the Business Leader of the Year Program.


Steve accepted his award from student committee co-chairs, Claire Everts and Zack Morris. UAF Photo by JR Ancheta.


The many student committee members and volunteers helped make the event a success. Photo by Latitude 64 Photography.